Thanks!

Yesterdays blog post was a bit of a downer. Yes, this year has been tough, but there have also been some awesome highlights and encounters with people across the globe. In March I got to travel to the US again, something that is quite rare and unexpected as I was only there in November 2015 for the dLRN conference. During this trip I got to meet some of my “heroes” of Ed-Tech. (I’ve put that in scare quotes because to be honest they’re really the type of people who’d be too humble and egalitarian to consider themselves to be worthy of that category. Maybe except Jim 🙂 ). It was one of those mind blowing experience, from running into the CogDog on the streets of Davidson, eating Texan BBQ with the Cats Pyjamas to brainstorming in a room full of people who I’d got to know over the years purely from their writing and social media outlets. Here they were in the flesh – living, breathing, thinking, talking, eating and drinking.

Online has given me a window into the big world around me and there have been some amazing stories, blog posts and talks shared this year. I have had the privilege of being able to read some amazing stories, thinking, ideas, critiques and projects from people right around the globe. People who I also want to meet one day – I just need the time and funds to do some more travel!

So now I want to do an actual roll call to say thanks. Thanks for writing, coding, creating, talking and most importantly – sharing. Now more than ever we need your voices. Don’t go silent. Keep on moving. Keep on speaking. I’ve been listening. I’ve been learning. Thanks for giving me that opportunity.

In no particular order here’s the list – think of it as my #FF ()Follow Fridays) for all of 2016. I can personally recommend every single voice here as each has something wonderful, insightful and worthwhile about life the universe and everything to say. Sometimes they disagree, and things then get interesting but we move forward. They have all helped me realise where we are going, how we can get there and more importantly – why it’s all worth the effort.

Thank you!

Kate Bowles @katemfd
Jim Groom @jimgroom
Audrey Watters @audreywatters
Bon Stewart @bonstewart
Helen South @helsouth
Francis Kneebone @franciskneebone
Alan Levine @cogdog
David Kernohan @dkernohan
Kristen Eshleman @kreshleman
Wade Kelly @wadekelly
Rolin Moe @rmoejo
Laura Gogia @googleguacamole
Mike Caulfield @holden
Kahiwa Sebire @kiwafruit
Doug Belshaw @dajbelshaw
Ben Werdmuller @benwerd
Kin Lane @kinlane
Tom Woodward @twoodwar
Adam Croom @acroom
Joyce Seitzinger @catspyjamasnz
Kim Tairi @kimtairi
Andrew Rickard @anrikard
Jessica Knott @jlknott
Mark Smithers @marksmithers
Brian Lamb @brlamb
Stephen Downes @downes
Martin Weller @mweller
Dai Barnes @daibarnes
Clint Lalonde @clintlalonde
Stuart Palmer @s_palm
James Croft @jamescroft
Jon Becker @jonbecker
Frances Bell @francesbell
Olga Belikov @olgamariab
Eddie Maloney @eddiemaloney
Josh Kim @joshmkim

A special shout out to my work colleagues who were with me through the whole year. They don’t spend much time online so can’t quite reference them in the same way – but they got me through this year, and we also managed to get some fantastic work done. From an Online Learning Model to hosting an international conference – not bad for our small team.

Finally my family. You’re all awesome and I’m so lucky to have you in my life. Cheers

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s