A Year Ago

We thought you’d like to look back on this post from 1 year ago.

That’s the sentiment from Facebook.

Remember that time someone broke into your house stole all your stuff and then set it on fire?

Yes I do. How could I forget? How could I possibly forget?

I’d love to remember not the loss, but the overwhelming support and love that our friends, family and strangers gave us at that time. I’d love to remember the tears of happiness that ran down my face when people bought round a bag of clothes, toys for my daughter or a whole damn month of groceries (including booze!) when we moved into our “temporary accommodation”. That’s when I felt lucky, even happy. Knowing I had these people in my life got me through a pretty terrible event.

I’d like to remember the whole saga in less detail and with less pain in my heart and anger in my belly.

At the moment though I can’t. The trauma is drawn out and replaced by yet another saga – The Insurance Company. I’d love to be posting pics of the house all fixed, the new furniture and us as a happy family back in our home – but that’s not where we are. At the moment we’re waiting. Waiting for someone in the Ombudsmans office to pick up our file and hopefully release us from having to deal with these incompetent chumps. Waiting in temporary accommodation, that a year Later doesn’t feel temporary at all.

A Year Ago I would have assumed we’d be back in our home. I would have assumed some kind of normality would be in place. Maybe next year. Maybe next year when Facebook’s algorithm helps me remember, I can look back at a Year Ago with happiness and relief.

Leave a Reply

